Scroll Top

UNITY Youth Elect New National Leadership for 2021-2022


Audriana Mitchell, Colorado River Indian Tribes of Arizona, and Izaiah Fisher, Confederated Tribes of Siltez Indians of Oregon, to serve as  co-presidents of the National UNITY Council Executive Committee

 Dallas, TX – United National Indian Tribal Youth, Inc. (UNITY) is pleased to announce Audriana Mitchell and Izaiah Fisher’s election as the new co-presidents of the National UNITY Council Executive Committee.

Mitchell, 23, is a descendant of the Navajo and Southern Cheyenne Tribes and is enrolled with Colorado River Indian Tribes of Arizona. She is a student at Mesa Community College majoring in Communications. Before being elected co-president, she served as UNITY’s Western Regional Representative and UNITY Peer Guide.  Honors include serving as Miss Colorado River Indian Tribes and Miss Indian Arizona and is a 2018 recipient of UNITY’s 25 under 25 national leadership program.

Fisher, 19, is a descendant of Shasta, Tututni, Salish bands and is an enrolled member of the Confederated Tribes of Siltez Indians of Oregon.  Izaiah is a recent graduate of Siletz Early College Academy and will attend the University of Oregon,  majoring in business. Prior to being elected co-president, he served as UNITY’s Northwest Regional Representative and served as a Siltez Tribal Youth Council member. He is a traditional dancer and singer.

UNITY has many affiliated youth councils across the US, standing at 325 in operation in 34 states. UNITY is the only national Native youth organization with a formal network of youth councils. Members of each affiliated youth council elect two individuals (one young female, one young male) to represent them on the National UNITY Council. From this group, individuals are selected by youth councils to serve as Regional Area Representatives on the National UNITY Council Executive Committee.  

This year, at the 5-day National UNITY Conference in Dallas, Texas, youth representatives of UNITY-affiliated youth councils elected its new National UNITY Council Executive Committee, comprised of ten regional representatives and two co-presidents… Fisher and Mitchell will work during their one-year term with the following 10 regional representatives: 

Great Plains Region Representative: Justice Fox, Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara of North Dakota

Midwest Region Representative: Angelina Serna, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians/Oneida Nation of Illinois

Northeast Region Representative/Vice President: Rory Wheeler, Seneca Nation of New York 

Northwest Region Representative/Secretary: Jonathan Arakawa, Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe of Washington

Pacific Region Representative: Kaytlynn Johnson, Bishop Paiute Tribe of California

Rocky Mountain Region Representative: ArriAnna Henry, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of Montana

Southern Plains Region Representative: Elwood McClellan, Jr., Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma

Southeast Region Representative: Evynn Richardson, Haliwa-Saponi Nation of North Carolina

Southwest Region Representative: Chenoa Scippo, Santa Clara Pueblo/Navajo of New Mexico

Western Region Representative: Steve Harvey, San Carlos Apache of Arizona 

The mission of the National UNITY Council is to represent the UNITY network, so that common concerns are studied and addressed with a positive and unified voice. This is accomplished during monthly national meetings, training, and projects that develop the leadership skills of Native youth by drawing upon their Native heritage and teachings. Additionally, the National UNITY Council will guide Native youth to learn how to effectively work together and address issues of concern in an environment that encourages them to interact in a dignified and respectful manner,  honoring one another. 

Leave a comment