NUC Executive Committee – Page 5 – UNITY, Inc.

Sarah Schilling Among Five Native Youth Honored

The Center for Native American Youth recently honored five Champions for Change and brought them to Washington, DC to “spotlight their stories and promote hope in Indian country.”

Sarah Schilling, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, was one of the youth honored. Sarah is currently serving as a member of the National UNITY Council Executive Committee and is a founding member of the Waganakising Eshkiniigijik UNITY Council. Read the March 18 article featured on to learn more about Sarah and the other youths’ experiences during their visit to the nation’s capital.

In a more recent Indian Country Today story, Sarah talked about her influences and background that led to a leadership role within her community and beyond.

Congratulations to Sarah for the honor awarded by the Center for Native American Youth and a much deserved thanks for the dedicated and successful efforts that make her a Champion for Change.

National Congress of American Indians Youth Commission Elects Jared Massey National Co-President

The following story is from a White Mountain Apache Tribe Education Department news release that was issued on December 01, 2012.

Jared is currently the Co-President of the National UNITY Council’s Executive Committee. Congratulations Jared for being elected to this new leadership responsibility.


Whiteriver, AZ – The National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) convened for the annual convention October 21-26 in Sacramento, CA. NCAI is a national organization that advocates, lobbies and addresses issues throughout Indian country. During this year’s annual convention, the NCAI Youth Commission elected White Mountain Apache tribal member Jared Massey National NCAI Youth Commission Co-President.

Throughout the week, Massey worked with native youth from tribes throughout the United States and focused on encouraging the Native Vote campaign for NCAI. The Youth Commission election was held October 24, in which Massey was declared the winner after garnering the most votes out of a field of four (4) young men.

Read More

Meet the 2012 – 2013 Executive Committee

The following eight members of the 2012 National UNITY Council Executive Committee have provided biographical sketches to introduce themselves to those of the national UNITY Network.

Amira Madison, Female Co-President: Amira is a twenty-three year old recent graduate of Northeastern University with a Bachelor of Arts in History and a minor in International Affairs. She was born in Boston, MA and grew up there till she was eleven when she moved to Martha’s Vineyard to be near her tribe. She began with the Aquinnah Youth Group and enjoyed traveling to leadership conferences. She aspires to become a doctor. She is an active member of the Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah and has represented the Wampanoag Tribe at UNITY (United National Indian Tribal Youth Inc.) where she began in 2006. She has worked at the Aquinnah Cultural Center, Wampanoag Tribe of Gayhead Aquinnah, Native American Youth Enrichment Program, Boston and at Jumpstart as part of her Northeastern work study. Amira is also a sister of Alpha Pi Omega. Currently she is taking the fall off to focus on relaxing and enjoying some fun!

Jared Massey: Jared Ivins-Massey, is an enrolled member of the White Mountain Apache Tribe of Arizona. He was born and raised on the Fort Apache Indian Reservation in Northeastern Arizona. Jared is the son of Leo and Rolinda Massey of Fort Apache, Arizona and hails from the community of Seven Mile and Cibecue, Arizona. Jared is a proud graduate of Alchesay High School where he was elected student body president and elected the White Mountain Apache Youth Council Male Co-President. Currently Jared is a double major studying political science and justice studies. Jared currently resides at the Arizona State University Polytechnic Campus in Chandler, Arizona. Jared has received Nemours awards and acknowledgements, one being the current United National Indian Tribal Youth, Inc. National Male Co-President, representing the Native Nations in the United States. Jared states, “With no Vision youth cannot prosper but with the guidance of our elders, a Vision is in our sight.” Jared is a motivational speaker, traditional dancer and plans to one day return to the White Mountain Apache Reservation and serve as a tribal attorney.

Read More

2010 – 2011 National UNITY Council Executive Committee

J’Shon Lee, White Mountain Apache, a student at Arizona State University and Victor Fuentes, Muscogee (Creek) have been re-elected to lead the National UNITY Council Executive Committee.

Others elected during the 2010 National UNITY Conference in San Diego were Candice Romero, Yavapai-Apache, as Vice President and Amira Madison, Aquinnah Wampanoag, as Secretary.

At-Large members of the Executive Committee are:  Leslie Lockear from Red Springs, North Carolina; Kristen Dosela from Laveen, Arizona; Katelyn Jacobs from Bolton, North Carolina; Jared Massey from Fort Apache, Arizona; Josh Locklear from Maxton, north Carolina; and Jeffrey Duarte from Chilmark, Massachusetts.

Read More